Skip to content


Thursday, October 21, 2010, 20.30: ELECTRIC QUARTET (B)
Glenn Magerman (tp, flh, FX), Nick Puylaert (Fender Rhodes, Hammond, FX), Juan Manssens (eb, FX), Diederik Van Remoortere (dr).
8 euro (-26 and +55), 10 euro (members), 12 euro
Supported by the Flemish Government (aanbod Podium)

Electric Quartet is a modern Belgian jazz ensemble which is looking for ways to go beyond the tradition Miles Davis developed in the late sixties and early seventies during his first electric period. Apart from Miles, the band is inspired by contemporary artists such as drummer Jim Black, trumpeter Dave Douglas and the trio Medeski, Martin & Wood. The result grooves and hypnotizes. In 2009, the band won the young jazz talent competiton at the Dinant Jazz Nights.
The members of Electric Quartet met each other at the jazz department of the Royal Conservatory of Antwerp where they started to play their own compositions. Apart from Electric Quartet, they have a busy schedule with other bands as well. Trumpeter Glenn Magerman for instance played with kind of everybody on the Flemish music scene, with artists as diverse as Helmut Lotti and Think of One. Keyboard and organ player Nick Puylaert is mainly active in the world of jazz with young bands such as FOURtune and Triple Eight. Bass guitarist Juan Manssens also leads the progressive rock band Sub.Science, whereas drummer Diederik Van Remoortere is also a member of Squeezable Future and The Valerie Solanas.
More info on,,, and

The following jazz concerts have been scheduled in the near future:
– Friday, November 5, 2010, 20:30: EWOUT PIERREUX QUINTET (B-NL) with Jean-Paul Estiévenart (tp, flh), Bruno Vansina (as, ss), Ewout Pierreux (p), Clemens van der Feen (b) and Lieven Venken (dr).
– Friday, December 3, 2010, 20:30, in cooperation with CC Zwaneberg: MASSOT / FLORIZOONE / HORBACZEWSKI (B) with Michel Massot (tuba), Tuur Florizoone (acc) and Marine Horbaczewski (cello).
– Tuesday, December 7, 2010, 20:30: VIJAY IYER (USA) Solo Piano. Book in advance on
– Saturday, February 12, 2011, 20:30, in cooperation with CC Zwaneberg: TUTU PUOANE “IT BEGAN IN AFRICA” (ZA-B-MOC) with Tutu Puoane (voc), Marcus Wyatt (tp), Tony Paco (perc), Ewout Pierreux (p), Nicolas Thys (b) and Lieven Venken (dr).
– Monday, February 28, 2011, 20:30: DAVE PIKE, BENJAMIN HERMAN & REIN DE GRAAFF TRIO (USA-NL), with Dave Pike (vib), Benjamin Herman (as), Rein de Graaff (p), Marius Beets (b) and Eric Ineke (dr).

%d bloggers like this: